Simon Evans and Tim Blackmore named as new traffic commissioners

Ashleigh Wight
March 15, 2017

Two new traffic commissioners (TCs), Tim Blackmore OBE and Simon Evans (pictured above), have been appointed.

Blackmore (below), who currently heads the British Forces Post Office and was commissioned into the Royal Corps of Transport in 1992, will fill the North East TC position in May. He replaces Kevin Rooney, who became TC for the West of England earlier this year.

Current deputy TC for the North West of England Simon Evans will replace Beverley Bell as North West TC when she steps down in May.

Four new deputy TCs have also been recruited. Mark Hinchliffe will become deputy TC for the North East; Jayne Salt for the North West; Laura Thomas for the East of England and Hugh Olson for Scotland.

Beverley Bell will also vacate her position as senior TC later this year. Her successor has not yet been announced.

About the Author


Share this article

Vehicle Type