Commercial Motor Awards 2017: winners revealed!

George Barrow
November 14, 2017

As you read this the winners of the Commercial Motor Awards will have been revealed at a star-studded evening that saw over 300 of the very best in new and used vehicle sales and aftersales descend on The Vox in Birmingham.

HRVS took home two awards on the night: Aftersales, Workshop and Maintenance Provider of the Year and Sales Team of the Year – while Asset Alliance Group also picked up two awards – Finance Provider of the Year and Rental, Leasing and Contract Hire Provider of the Year.

Dennison Commercials won Franchised Dealer of the Year – marking the second year a Northern Ireland dealership has won the category after Scania (Roadtrucks) won the award last year – while PM Commercials won Independent Dealer of the Year for the second year in a row.

New for 2017 was Bodybuilder of the Year, won by Bevan Group; Waldron Commercials won Technician Team of the Year; r2c Online won in the Workshop Innovation category; Fleet Auction Group picked up Auction House of the Year and Apprentice of the Year was Joshua Redfern at Cartwright Group.

Tony Pain, formerly of DAF, won the Service to Industry Award. Editor-in-Chief Christopher Walton said: “We’re delighted that the businesses that keep the wheels of the road transport industry turning get the recognition they deserve at the Commercial Motor Awards.

“Our team of independent judges, and our mystery shopper, really had their work cut out in judging some very difficult categories over the summer. I can’t wait to see who will challenge them next year!”


Independent Dealer of the Year, sponsored by Close Brothers Asset Finance.

Winner: PM Commercials

Shortlisted: David Spear Commercial Vehicles; Rothdean


Aftersales, Workshop  and Maintenance Provider of the Year, sponsored by Diesel Technic.

Winner: HRVS Group

Highly Commended: Waldron Commercials


Finance Provider of the Year, sponsored by Protruck Auctions.

Winner: Asset Alliance Group

Shortlisted: Close Brothers Asset Finance


Technician Team of the Year.

Winner: Waldron Commercials

Highly Commended: Thomas Hardie Commercials

Shortlisted: David Spear Commercial Vehicles


Workshop Innovation of the Year.

Winner: r2c Online

Shortlisted: CheckedSafe; City Hydraulic Hose; The Road Haulage Association and Truckfile, Magic Internet Technologies


Sales Team of the Year.

Winner: HRVS Group

Shortlisted: Dennison Commercials; Rygor Commercials and Thomas Hardie Commercials


Auction House of the Year.

Winner: The Fleet Auction Group

Shortlisted: Commercial Vehicle Auctions


Bodybuilder of the Year.              

Winner: Bevan Group

Highly Commended: Thompsons UK

Shortlisted: Cartwright Group; J C Payne UK; Lawrence David; Leyland Trucks and Wilcox Commercial Vehicles


Apprentice of the Year.

Winner: Joshua Redfern, Cartwright Group

Highly Commended: Brendan Griffiths, Waldron Commercials

Shortlisted: Brad McNeillie, Spillard Safety Systems and Sam Fazackerley, Thomas Hardie Commercials.


Rental, Leasing and Contract Hire Provider of the Year. 

Winner: Asset Alliance Group

Shortlisted: Fraikin; Hireco; Seven Asset Management and TOM Vehicle Rental


Franchised Dealer of the Year, sponsored by PM Commercials.

Winner: Dennison Commercials

Highly Commended: RH Commercial Vehicles

Shortlisted: HRVS Group and Thomas Hardie Commercials


Service to Industry Award, sponsored by Hireco.             

Winner: Tony Pain

About the Author


George Barrow

George has been writing about nearly anything with wheels for the past 15 years and is the UK jury member of the International Van of the Year and International Pick-Up Award.

Share this article

Vehicle Type