International Truck of the Year 2020 and Innovation Award 2020 shortlists revealed

Will Shiers
October 6, 2019


Three new trucks will this year battle it out for the coveted International Truck of the Year (IToY) 2020 title.

The IToY jury, which consists of 23 commercial vehicle editors and senior journalists, representing 23 major trucking magazines from throughout Europe, has chosen the following three trucks:

IVECO S-Way range

Mercedes-Benz Actros generation 6

Volvo FH I-Save

The 2019 title is held by the Ford Trucks F-Max (pictured).

Also revealed is the shortlist for the Innovation Award, which is now in its second year. The six vehicles in contention are:

Freightliner eCascadia

Hyundai H2 XCIENT

Nikola electric fuel cell range

Renault Optifuel Lab 3

Scania AXL

Volvo Vera

The winners of both awards will be revealed at the Solutrans Show in Lyon, on the night of 20 November.

About the Author


Will Shiers

Will Shiers has held an HGV licence since the age of 21, and has been writing about commercial vehicles for the past 25 years. He started his career as technical editor on Motor Transport, before taking on the editorship of Truck & Driver. Since 2011 he has been the editor of industry leading weekly publication Commercial Motor. Will is the UK jury member of the International Truck of the Year.

Share this article

Vehicle Type