A1 Services (Manchester) puts first tractor units onto the road

A1 Services (Manchester)


A1 Services (Manchester) has put its first tractive units into operation, opting for two Volvo FMXs.

The 6x4s feature a X-high chassis with B-ride suspension and were supplied by Thomas Hardie Commercials.

As A1 Services (Manchester) will use the new tractor units exclusively on regional work, it has opted for day cabs. When coupled to the company’s new Schmitz tipper trailers, this will allow for more payload. 

Currently Volvo trucks account for around 30 of A1 Services Manchester’s fleet of 37 HGVs.

John Walsh, Director at A1 Services (Manchester), said: “Our first association with Volvo Trucks and Thomas Hardie Commercials was around 25 years ago and since then we have operated quite a number of Volvo vehicles.

“Volvo is a good brand and we’ve high hopes for these two FMXs; the first tractor units bought by the company. Articulated tipper combinations offer us an increased payload and we’ll be monitoring the results of this long term experiment with interest.”


2018 Commercial Motor Award winners revealed!

Over 400 people packed out the Vox centre in Birmingham for the third annual Commercial Motor Awards last night (15 November) – celebrating the very best in new and used vehicle sales and aftersales across 15 categories.

Commercial Contract Engineers were among the most successful on the night, winning two awards - Technician Team and Aftersales and Maintenance Provider. Cartwright Group also picked up two awards - Bodybuilder and Service to Industry – with the latter going to group chairman Peter Cartwright following a unanimous nomination from the independent panel of truck and trailer buyers.

Renault dealership RH Commercials won Franchised Dealer of the Year, after being Highly Commended in the category in 2017 – while Yorkshire’s MACS Trucks won Independent Dealer of the Year.

New winners for 2018 also included Johnson Sweepers, Hexagon Leasing; DAF dealership Ford & Slater and Mercedes-Benz dealership Rygor Commercials.

The career of Brian Currie, chairman of Brian Currie in Milton Keynes, was celebrated in the inaugural Dealer Principal of the Year.

Independent Dealer of the Year presented by Close Brothers Asset Finance

Winner: MACS Truck Sales

Highly Commended: Leighton Vans

Shortlisted: Rothdean


Aftersales, Workshop and Maintenance Provider of the Year presented by TotalKare

Winner: Commercial Contract Engineers

Shortlisted: APM Commercials;  Dennison Commercials; RH Commercial Vehicles; Terberg DTS UK; Waldron Commercials; Yaxley Coachworks.


Finance Provider of the Year presented by Protruck Auctions

Winner: Asset Alliance Group

Shortlisted: Close Brothers Asset Finance


Workshop Innovation of the Year presented by Hexagon Leasing

Winner: r2c Online

Shortlisted: Assetminder; Neutral Steer


Sales Team of the Year presented by Brigade Electronics

Winner: Dennison Commercials

Highly Commended: RH Commercial Vehicles

Shortlisted: MACS Truck Sales; RH Commercial Vehicles; Roanza Truck and Van; Rygor Commercials.


Customer Service Award presented by Hankook Tyre UK

Winner: Waldron Commercials

Shortlisted: Carrier Transicold UK; Commercial Contract Engineers; Dennison Commercials; MAN Truck and Bus UK; TomTom Telematics.


Auction House of the Year

Winner: The Fleet Auction Group

Shortlisted: Commercial Vehicle Auctions; Wilsons Auctions.


Technician Team of the Year

Winner: Commercial Contract Engineers

Highly Commended: Waldron Commercials


Bodybuilder of the Year

Winner: Cartwright Group

Shortlisted: Lawrence David; Rothdean.


Bodywork Innovation of the Year

Winner: Johnston Sweepers

Shortlisted: Neutral Steer; Rothdean.


Apprentice of the Year presented by Shawbrook Bank

Winner: Sonny Meijer, Ford and Slater, Kings Lynn

Shortlisted: Christian Chirwa, MAN Truck & Bus UK; Kate Carter, Roanza Truck and Van; Thomas Belcher, Rygor Commercials.


Rental, Leasing and Contract Hire Provider of the Year

Winner: Hexagon Leasing

Shortlisted: Asset Alliance Group; Macs Truck Rental & Leasing Co; Rothdean.


Forecourt / Showroom of the Year Award

Winner: Rygor Commercials, Gloucester

Shortlisted: City West Commercials, Avonmouth; Imperial Commercials, Birmingham (Halesowen); MACS Truck Sales.


Franchised Dealer of the Year presented by PM Commercials

Winner: RH Commercial Vehicles

Shortlisted: Guest Truck and Van & Sherwood Truck & Van; Rygor Commercials.


Dealer Principal of the Year Award

Brian Currie, Chairman, Brian Currie Milton Keynes


Service to Industry Award

Peter Cartwright, Cartwright Group.