Lawrence David will launch new trailer chassis in 2020

Lawrence David's new trailer chassis

Lawrence David will launch a new trailer chassis in January, built in Poland by new owner Wielton. It will be available in the same specifications as the previous SDC-supplied chassis.

Lawrence David will be the first UK-based manufacturer to use a KTL cathodic dip paint system during the build process, which will help extend the trailers’ lives.

The chassis will be constructed from a higher tensile British Steel and robotically welded which, the company says, reduces the margin for error versus hand-built methods.

Lawrence David’s marketing manager Joshua Barnard, said: “We are so confident that the new models will go the distance, we’re going to offer them with a 10-year factory warranty.”

Manufacturer repair and maintenance for the new models will be the same as before. Lawrence David will offer support networks throughout the UK and Europe, ensuring parts are available in case of faults or damages.

“Interest has been high so far. I can’t quote the exact amount of companies interested in the new trailer, but the phones have been ringing, which is definitely a good sign,” Barnard concluded.

For information on Lawrence David's new trailer chassis, click here.

All the winners from the Commercial Motor Awards 2019 revealed

Commercial Motor Awards 2019

More than 400 people packed out the Vox Centre in Birmingham for the fourth annual Commercial Motor Awards – celebrating the best in new and used vehicle sales and aftersales.

Waldron Commercials were the big winners on the night, picking up an impressive and well-deserved three awards. Aftersales and Maintenance Provider, Technician Team of the Year and the Customer Service Award all went to the family run business based in Tafarnaubach near Newport.

Other winners on the night were The Fleet Auction Group in the Auction House of the Year category, RS Recovery for the Breakdown and Recovery Operator of the Year and Dawsonsgroup for Rental, Leasing and Conract Hire Provider of the Year.

Also recognised were apprentice Matthew Brinded from Go Plant Fleet Services, bodybuilder L Townend, Close Brothers Asset Finance, Rygor Commercials, Volvo Truck and Bus Centre North & Scotland, r2C Online and Simon Griffin from Watts of Lydney.

The big honour, however, fell to Lee Smith of Hanbury Riverside who was given the Service to Industry Award, while Hanbury Riverside was also named the Independent Dealer of the Year.


Aftersales and Maintenance Provider of the Year presented by TotalKare

Winner: Waldron Commercials

Highly Commended: Scania (Great Britain)


Apprentice of the Year presented by The Fleet Auction Group

Winner: Matthew Brinded, Go Plant Fleet Services

Highly commended: Cameron Smith, Bullet Express

Shortlist: Aidan Coittingham, Volvo Truck and Bus Centre North & Scotland; Caroline Delaney, Donnelly Group; Will Denton, Hexagon Leasing; Callum Gook-Mackenzie, Norfolk Truck and Van; Ollie Leighfield, City West Commercials; Euan Webber, City West Commercials


Auction House of the Year presented by Asset Alliance

Winner: The Fleet Auction Group

Shortlist: Manheim 


Bodybuilder of the Year presented by Vision Track

Winner: L Townend Ltd

Highly commended: Bodywork Solutions

Shortlist: Aliweld; Lawrence David; Lothian Vehicle Bodybuilders


Breakdown and Recovery Operator of the Year presented by The CV Show

Winner: RS Recovery

Shortlist: G& M J Crouch & Son


Customer Service Award presented by Hankook UK

Winner: Waldron Commercials

Shortlist: TotalKare

Dealer Principal of the Year presented by Aquarius

Winner: Simon Griffin, Watts of Lydney

Highly Commended: Graeson Clarke, City West Commercials 

Finance Provider of the Year presented by Protruck Auctions

Winner: Close Brothers Asset Finance

Shortlist: Asset Alliance Group; PEAC (UK)

Franchised Dealer of the Year presented by PM Commercials

Winner: Rygor Commercials

Highly commended: Dennisons Commercials

Shortlist: AN Richards; Thomas Hardie Commercials

Independent Dealer of the Year presented by Close Brothers Asset Finance

Winner: Hanbury Riverside

Shortlist: PM Commercials; Vans 365

Sales Team of the Year presented by Vic Bunby, Commercial Motor

Winner: Volvo Truck and Bus Centre North & Scotland

Highly Commended: Thomas Hardie Commercials

Shortlist: Asset Alliance Group; Rygor Commercials


Service to Industry presented by Glyn Davies

Winner: Lee Smith, Hanbury Riverside


Rental, Leasing and Contract Hire Provider of the Year presented by Will Shiers, Commercial Motor

Winner: Dawsongroup

Shortlist: Asset Alliance Group; County Car and Van Rental; Go Plant Fleet Services; Hexagon Leasing; LeasePlan UK


Technician Team of the Year presented by Diesel Technic UK

Winner: Waldron Commercials

Shortlist: Norfolk Truck and Van


Workshop Innovation of the Year presented by Hexagon Leasing

Winner: r2c Online

Shortlist: CheckedSafe; Renault Trucks UK; SmartWitness