Volta Trucks appoints new CEO

George Barrow
April 19, 2021

Volta Trucks has appointed a new Chief Executive Officer, Essa Al-Saleh, and Executive Chairman, Carl-Magnus Norden, in preparation for its as it prepares to move ahead with the next stage of its corporate development. The company’s previous CEO, Rob Fowler, has stepped down for personal reasons but will remain a shareholder of the company.

Al-Saleh has been appointed as CEO of Volta Trucks AB and Volta Trucks Ltd as of April 12 having been Chairman of the Board of Directors since September 2020. Essa joined Volta Trucks from Agility Logistics where he spent 13 years as President and CEO. During that time, Agility grew from a one-country operation with 300 employees and $150m in revenue to a company operating in over 100 countries with 18,000 employees and $4bn in revenue.

Founder of Volta Trucks, Carl-Magnus Norden, will take up the position of Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors and will be confirmed at the company’s forthcoming AGM.

Commenting on his appointment, Essa Al-Saleh, said; “I’m very happy to be appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Volta Trucks, having been its Chairman of the Board since September. We are at a pivotal moment of a major transformation in the automotive industry. Volta Trucks is at the heart of this transformation, building the first full-electric large commercial vehicles to support the decarbonisation of logistics, improving city centre environments for all. At Agility Logistics, I had what I thought was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to scale a company into a truly global organisation. To be able to do it a second time is an exciting privilege, and I look forward to leading the company’s Management Team as we embark on the next stage of the company’s development and growth. I’d like to thank Rob for his pivotal efforts in leading the company over the past 14 months, and launching the Volta Zero, which has positioned Volta Trucks well for the next critical phase.”

About the Author


George Barrow

George has been writing about nearly anything with wheels for the past 15 years and is the UK jury member of the International Van of the Year and International Pick-Up Award.

Share this article

Vehicle Type